Minimum Wage Violations

labor lawsLabor laws generally require that workers be paid a minimum wage per hour. Under Federal law, pursuant to the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), there is a minimum wage per hour that all covered employers must pay their employees.

In many States, the minimum wage rate is governed by either Federal labor laws or State labor laws. For example, Florida’s minimum wage rate is higher than the Federal minimum wage. As a result, covered employers must generally pay employees whichever minimum wage rate is higher.

The current, and most recent, minimum wages for employees who have worked in Florida are:

Year Minimum Wage

2013 Federal: $7.25/hour (Effective January 1, 2013)

Florida: $7.79/hour

2012 Federal: $7.25/hour (Effective January 1, 2012)
Florida: $7.67/hour

2011 Federal: $7.25/hour (Effective June 1, 2011)
Florida: $7.31/hour

2010 Federal: $7.25/hour (Effective January 1, 2010)
Florida: $7.25/hour

Examples of Possible Minimum Wage Violations:

  • Your employer does not pay you, or pays you less than minimum wage, for any portion of the total hours you work, even if your average pay rate for all hours worked is above minimum wage.
  • Your paycheck bounces (does not clear) when you try to cash or deposit it.
  • Your regular rate of pay is close to the minimum wage but your employer requires you to perform certain tasks before you clock in for your shift or after you clock out.
  • Your employer expects you to perform some of your job duties during your meal breaks or rest breaks, again when your regular rate of pay is close to the minimum wage.
  • Your employer makes deductions from your pay for “mistakes” or damage to property at your job, which deductions cause your pay to fall below the minimum wage rate.

If you were not paid at least the minimum wage for all of your hours worked, or you have other questions about your pay, contact us today.