Employment Laws Undergo Change In Florida With Minimum Wage Increase


Effective January 1, 2019, Florida’s minimum wage will increase from $8.25 per hour to $8.46 per hour.

Tipped workers will also see a climb regarding their pay. The minimum wage for tipped workers will increase from $5.23 to $5.44 an hour.

With this increase, Florida will no longer have the second-lowest minimum wage among states whose minimum wages exceed the federal $7.25 minimum. Still, it represents just a 2.5 percent increase, according to a recent Miami Herald article.

If this minimum wage increase affects you, be sure your employer immediately adjusts your pay.

If you have questions about your rights or would like to discuss unpaid wage claims and damages, please click here to complete the Contact Us form, and a member of our law firm will contact you.

The content of the article is for informational purposes only and does not contain legal or other advice and/or opinions. Shares and posts are not endorsements.