13 States, Including Florida Raise Pay for Minimum-wage Workers

On January 1, 2014, the minimum wage for employees working in Florida rose to $7.93 per hour, a 14 cent increase.  Also effective on January 1, 2014, “tipped employees” in Florida who otherwise meet eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must be paid a direct cash wage of at least $4.91 per hour. This is an amount equal to the new Florida minimum of $7.93 per hour, minus the $3.02 hourly tip credit permitted under Florida law.

In addition, as of January 1, 2014, Florida employers will be required to post a new “Notice to Employee” issued by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity.

Hourly employees working in Florida should review their pay stubs for work performed after January 1, 2014, to ensure that their employer has paid them at least $7.93 per hour for all their hours up to 40 in a work week and $11.89 for every hour thereafter.

If you have questions whether your employer is compliant with these most recent changes to the Florida minimum wage, please contact Shavitz Law Group for a free consultation.

On Jan. 1, the minimum wage in 13 states will increase to these amounts.

State New minimum wage
Arizona $7.90
Colorado $8.00
Connecticut $8.70
Florida $7.93
Missouri $7.50
Montana $7.90
New Jersey $8.25
New York $8.00
Ohio $7.95
Oregon $9.10
Rhode Island $8.00
Vermont $8.73
Washington $9.32

You Earned It,
Now Let's Go Get It.

Contact us to learn more about your right to overtime, fair pay, and equal treatment in the workplace.

Contact Us Today


Recent Posts